top of page
Blog: Blog Post Gallery
Blog: Blog2
Search
Maverick Ian M. de Jesus

Mirror, Mirror on the Monitor

Updated: Mar 26, 2019

De Jesus, Maverick Ian M.


Sir Jaypee Gatmaitan


Empowerment Technologies


March 25, 2019


Reflection on Empowerment Technologies


Empowered.


A lot of memorable things happened to me and my classmates during our Empowerment Technologies course. These include the lessons and challenges from which I got a great deal of learning. Along the way, communication and socialization among the class were emphasized by making it interactive about dealing with the subject.


In my opinion, the allocated time for the subject was used effectively utilizing what is being taught, technology, itself. Every topic is well-prepared and presented by the teacher with the use of powerpoints as visual presentations. Moreover, the alignment and transitions of topics were not idle. Activities or tasks given were used as an introduction to a new lesson, often, backed up with analogy which made us a better critical thinker. The guidelines were also provided in a creative manner giving us clear and precise instructions.


There are two main strengths responsible for my understanding of the subject. First is the actual experience that I get by applying what we have learned. Doing things after they have been taught was proven to be a convenient way of absorbing the knowledge within. Second, the experiences of my classmates which they share through a form of criticism also contribute to my learning. Since interaction is highlighted in this course, I also gain wisdom from others’ actual experiences.


The only obstacles that I encountered in the class were the unequal amount of competence and openness to discussions of the students. Commonly, these two can be observed in group assignments wherein overdependence to other members arises. I suggest balancing the individual performance tasks with group activities which promotes more independent participation of students throughout the course.


I find that the learning from this subject was very useful to other subjects and circumstances too. This includes, namely: video editing, creating and managing websites, business cards etiquette, importance of advocacies, making blogs and vlogs, etc. I am hoping to have a better performance in my higher studies and to my future career based on the significant human experiences Empowerment Technologies has instilled in me.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Karl Mykael G. Canete

The first week of this unit I had a mix of emotions, excitement and stress. The topics covered each week had gave me the opportunity to...

Karl Mykael G. Canete

Advocacy and ICT Advocacy videos about current issues were created as fulfillment of the subject requirements in Empowerment...

Comments


bottom of page